No Run Support

Detroit Tigers baseball and other nonsense

The last thing I wanted to happen

Allow me to interrupt the steady stream of tears rolling down my cheeks (yes, really, shut up) so that I can post about how bummed I am that the Tigers traded Casper Wells to the Seattle Mariners. Casper’s been my favorite player for a while, and not just for his baseball abilities, of which he has plenty. This year he made the big league team out of spring training, but his lack of playing time gave me a bad feeling in the back of my mind that he’d be gone come July. Anyway, he’s involved in the deal that brings Doug Fister to Detroit. I can appreciate that, as a starting pitcher is a huge need for the team to make the playoffs. This still stings, though.

Photo by Allison Hagen

Casper is a genuinely great guy and an extremely hard worker. He always smiled and said hello, asked how I was doing when I’d see him at games. Baseball has been his dream his whole life and call me biased, but I have an extra bit of respect for guys like that. I’m going to keep watching him with Seattle and even though that team isn’t going anywhere this year, he’ll stand out now that he has a real chance to play.

In other news, Jacob Turner, the Tigers’ top pitching prospect, is making his MLB debut this afternoon. I’m excited for that but the Wells news puts a bit of a damper on things for me.

One response to “The last thing I wanted to happen

  1. Let's Go Tigers July 30, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    I feel your pain. He’s one of my favorites too, and I started crying when I heard he got traded.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

